3 records – page 1 of 1.

Thomas Irvine House

https://search.heritageburnaby.ca/link/landmark536
Repository
Burnaby Heritage Planning
Description
The Thomas Irvine House is a very small, two room wood frame cottage, originally located on Laurel Street in Central Burnaby (now the site of the Burnaby Lake Sports Complex - West), and now relocated to the Burnaby Village Museum.
Associated Dates
1911
Formal Recognition
Heritage Designation, Community Heritage Register
Other Names
Tommy Irvine House
Repository
Burnaby Heritage Planning
Other Names
Tommy Irvine House
Geographic Access
Deer Lake Avenue
Associated Dates
1911
Formal Recognition
Heritage Designation, Community Heritage Register
Enactment Type
Bylaw No. 9807
Enactment Date
23/11/1992
Description
The Thomas Irvine House is a very small, two room wood frame cottage, originally located on Laurel Street in Central Burnaby (now the site of the Burnaby Lake Sports Complex - West), and now relocated to the Burnaby Village Museum.
Heritage Value
The Thomas Irvine House is representative of an extremely modest, vernacular working-class cottage of the early twentieth century, once common but mostly now demolished. Irish-born Thomas Irvine (1864-1964) and his friend, Robert Moore, constructed the house in 1911 to suit the simple needs of a bachelor. Irvine worked on the construction of the British Columbia Electric Railway Burnaby Lake Interurban Line and was a pile driver by trade. The house consists of two rooms, a living room/kitchen and a bedroom. There were some improvements made throughout the fifty years Irvine lived there, such as running water in 1929, and electricity in the 1950s, but the essential character and form of the house remained intact. Irvine was a well-known local character and pioneer of Burnaby. The heritage value for this house also lies in its interpretive value within the Burnaby Village Museum. The site is an important cultural feature for the interpretation of Burnaby’s heritage to the public. The Thomas Irvine House was moved to the Burnaby Village Museum in 1975 and was restored to its 1920s appearance.
Defining Elements
The character defining elements of the Thomas Irvine House include its: - rectangular form and simple massing - bellcast hipped form with cedar shingle cladding - cedar shingle cladding stained dark brown - double-hung 1-over-1 wooden-sash window on front facade; simple double wooden-sash casement on west facade - interior layout of the house with 2 rooms, a living room/kitchen and bedroom - V-joint tongue-and-groove wood interior paneling
Locality
Deer Lake Park
Historic Neighbourhood
Burnaby Lake (Historic Neighbourhood)
Planning Study Area
Morley-Buckingham Area
Organization
British Columbia Electric Railway
Burnaby Village Museum
Builder
Thomas Irvine (Owner)
Robert Moore
Function
Primary Current--Museum
Primary Historic--Single Dwelling
Community
Burnaby
Cadastral Identifier
P.I.D. No. 011-030-356 Legal Description: Parcel 1, District Lot 79 and District Lot 85, Group 1, New Westminster District, Reference Plan 77594
Boundaries
Burnaby Village Museum is comprised of a single municipally-owned property located at 6501 Deer Lake Avenue, Burnaby.
Area
38,488.63
Contributing Resource
Building
Landscape Feature
Structure
Ownership
Public (local)
Documentation
Heritage Site Files: PC77000 20. City of Burnaby Planning and Building Department, 4949 Canada Way, Burnaby, B.C., V5G 1M2
Names
Irvine, Tom
Street Address
6501 Deer Lake Avenue
Images
Less detail

Vorce Station

https://search.heritageburnaby.ca/link/landmark664
Repository
Burnaby Heritage Planning
Description
The Vorce Station is a modest utilitarian passenger tram shelter, originally constructed at the foot of Nursery Street as part of the British Columbia Electric Railway Company’s Burnaby Lake Interurban Line. In 1953, it was moved to a local farm by the Lubbock family, and in 1977 it was relocated t…
Associated Dates
1911
Formal Recognition
Heritage Designation, Community Heritage Register
Repository
Burnaby Heritage Planning
Geographic Access
Deer Lake Avenue
Associated Dates
1911
Formal Recognition
Heritage Designation, Community Heritage Register
Enactment Type
Bylaw No. 9807
Enactment Date
23/11/1992
Description
The Vorce Station is a modest utilitarian passenger tram shelter, originally constructed at the foot of Nursery Street as part of the British Columbia Electric Railway Company’s Burnaby Lake Interurban Line. In 1953, it was moved to a local farm by the Lubbock family, and in 1977 it was relocated to Burnaby Village Museum. The wood-frame structure has a rectangular plan and hipped roof. It is enclosed on three sides, with an open side for access to the train platform and a single long built-in bench across the back of the station.
Heritage Value
The heritage value of the Vorce Station is as the last remaining interurban station in Burnaby and one of the few extant structures left in the Greater Vancouver region that were once part of the extensive British Columbia Electric Railway (BCER) interurban system. The Vorce Station was designed and built by the BCER, and is typical of the small local passenger stations on the Burnaby Lake and Chilliwack interurban lines. It was named after C.B. Vorce, the Chief Engineer for the company. The impact of the interurban line on local development was extremely significant, as it connected the cities of New Westminster and Vancouver, and enabled the residents of Burnaby to form a cohesive municipality from the mainly rural lands remaining between the two larger centres. Much of the early development in Burnaby was due to the growth of the interurban rail lines. The heritage significance for this station also lies in its interpretive value within the Burnaby Village Museum. The Vorce Station is an important cultural feature for the interpretation of Burnaby’s transportation history to the public, and is an important surviving feature of the BCER interurban system.
Defining Elements
The character defining features of the Vorce Station include its: - rectangular form and pyramidal roof with overhanging eaves - simple vernacular design and utilitarian nature - cedar shingle wall cladding - cedar shingle-clad roof with galvanized pressed tin roof ridges - interior vertical tongue-and-groove panelling - heritage graffiti: initials and messages carved and scrawled on the walls - identifying sign with large letters visible at a distance
Locality
Deer Lake Park
Historic Neighbourhood
Burnaby Lake (Historic Neighbourhood)
Planning Study Area
Morley-Buckingham Area
Organization
British Columbia Electric Railway
Burnaby Village Museum
Function
Primary Current--Museum
Primary Historic--Rail Station
Community
Burnaby
Cadastral Identifier
P.I.D. No. 011-030-356 Legal Description: Parcel 1, District Lot 79 and District Lot 85, Group 1, New Westminster District, Reference Plan 77594
Boundaries
Burnaby Village Museum is comprised of a single municipally-owned property located at 6501 Deer Lake Avenue, Burnaby.
Area
38,488.63
Contributing Resource
Building
Structure
Landscape Feature
Documentation
Heritage Site Files: PC77000 20. City of Burnaby Planning and Building Department, 4949 Canada Way, Burnaby, B.C., V5G 1M2
Street Address
6501 Deer Lake Avenue
Images
Less detail

W.J. Mathers House 'Altnadene'

https://search.heritageburnaby.ca/link/landmark532
Repository
Burnaby Heritage Planning
Description
The W.J. Mathers House 'Altnadene', is a two-and-one-half storey wood frame house set in a large terraced garden, now located in Deer Lake Park. Built as a family home, it is designed in the British Arts and Crafts style enriched by Tudor, Romanesque, and medieval details.
Associated Dates
1912
Formal Recognition
Heritage Designation, Community Heritage Register
Other Names
William & Mary Mathers Residence
Street View URL
Google Maps Street View
Repository
Burnaby Heritage Planning
Other Names
William & Mary Mathers Residence
Geographic Access
Deer Lake Avenue
Associated Dates
1912
Formal Recognition
Heritage Designation, Community Heritage Register
Enactment Type
Bylaw No. 9807
Enactment Date
23/11/1992
Description
The W.J. Mathers House 'Altnadene', is a two-and-one-half storey wood frame house set in a large terraced garden, now located in Deer Lake Park. Built as a family home, it is designed in the British Arts and Crafts style enriched by Tudor, Romanesque, and medieval details.
Heritage Value
'Altnadene' was constructed in the Deer Lake Crescent subdivision, which was originally promoted as an upper class neighbourhood. It represents one of the first residential developments in the City of Burnaby that required buildings to be of a specific value, thus demonstrating the desire for exclusivity among the successful businessmen who chose to settle in the area. The house and grounds illustrate the social, cultural, lifestyle and leisure sensibilities of the owners in the Deer Lake Crescent subdivision: such values as social aspiration, racial exclusivity, demonstration of architectural taste, importance of a landscaped garden, and the provision of facilities for fashionable pursuits such as lawn tennis. The estate is historically significant for its connection to William John Mathers (1859-1929), an early pioneer who arrived in New Westminster in 1876, an enterprising grain dealer, businessman, alderman, president of the Board of Trade and various other local organizations, and a 'public spirited and progressive citizen.' Designed for Mathers and his wife, Mary Elizabeth Jane (Whelan) Mathers (1869-1939), by Burnaby architect Frank William Macey (1863-1935), the Arts and Crafts style of the Mathers House contributes to the overall stylistic ambiance of the collection of homes now preserved in Deer Lake Park, displaying an eclectic array of details that give it a unique identity. The first resident architect in Burnaby, Macey was born and trained in England where he was well-respected for having published two standard texts for the architectural profession. He settled in Burnaby in the first decade of the twentieth century and obtained a number of commissions from prominent businessmen who were building grand homes in the new community of Deer Lake. He designed mostly in the British Arts and Crafts style and introduced the use of rough-cast stucco for building exteriors, a characteristic for which he was renowned. The house also has an important connection to Burnaby’s history as it later served as a convalescent home for soldiers wounded on the battlefront during the First World War. Indicative of the evolving functionality of the site, a classroom wing was added in 1939 after Benedictine Monks acquired the house and it was operated as the Seminary of Christ the King.
Defining Elements
Key elements that define the heritage character of 'Altnadene' include its: - prominent corner location within a park setting, in relation to the Anderson residence - irregular form and massing - irregular roof line, including a central pyramidal hipped section and open gable ends to front and sides, with cedar shingle cladding - exterior of rough-cast stucco and half-timbering - eclectic exterior details such as the Tudor arches of the verandah; and the medieval crenellations of the tower - mixture of double-hung and casement, with transom, wooden-sash windows - massive chimneys of Clayburn firebrick - surviving interior details such as fireplaces, doors and leaded glass - wrought iron gates, massive gate-posts inscribed with 'Altnadene' and granite walls at the corner entry of the property
Locality
Deer Lake Park
Historic Neighbourhood
Burnaby Lake (Historic Neighbourhood)
Planning Study Area
Douglas-Gilpin Area
Function
Primary Current--Recreation Centre
Primary Historic--Estate
Community
Burnaby
Cadastral Identifier
P.I.D. No. 007-527-241 Legal Description: Lot 'B', District Lot 79, Group 1, New Westminster District, Plan 6642
Boundaries
'Altnadene' is comprised of a single municipally-owned property located at 6490 Deer Lake Avenue, Burnaby.
Area
17,065.00
Contributing Resource
Building
Landscape Feature
Ownership
Public (local)
Other Collection
City of Burnaby: Salvaged original elements from the house, including fireplace surrounds, doors and hardware
Names
Mathers, William J.
Mathers, Mary Elizabeth Whelan
Christ the King Seminary
Street Address
6490 Deer Lake Avenue
Street View URL
Google Maps Street View
Images
Less detail