

TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS DATE: 2012 January 23

**FROM:** MAYOR DEREK R. CORRIGAN

SUBJECT: CITIZEN APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS,

**COMMITTEES AND COMMISSIONS OF COUNCIL – 2012** 

**PURPOSE:** To appoint and reappoint citizen representatives to boards, committees and

commissions of Council

### **RECOMMENDATION:**

1. "THAT Council appoint and reappoint representatives to various Boards, Commissions and Committees of Council, as set out in this report for the terms specified."

#### **REPORT**

In 2011 October and November, advertisements were placed in both the Burnaby Now and the Burnaby NewsLeader seeking volunteers to serve on Boards, Committees and Commissions of Council and the Burnaby Public Library Board. A review of all applications received was undertaken and as a result of that process the following is submitted for Council's consideration.

Appointments and reappointments of Burnaby citizens to the various boards, committees and commissions are for terms of three years unless otherwise noted.

### **Advisory Planning Commission**

Appointments:

Harman Dhatt, Craig Henschel

#### **Board of Variance**

Reappointment:

Piero Ferronato

Appointment:

Charlene Richter

To: Council Members

From: His Worship Mayor Derek R. Corrigan

# **Community Heritage Commission**

Chair: Councillor Colleen Jordan
Vice Chair: Councillor Nick Volkow
Member: Councillor Richard Chang

Reappointment:

Zoe Towle

Appointment (2 year term):

Coni O'Neill

### **Community Policing Committee**

Chair: Councillor Pietro Calendino

Vice Chair: Councillor Paul McDonell

Member: Councillor Anne Kang

Appointments:

Jason Li, Lindy McQueen

### **Burnaby Public Library Board**

(Pursuant to the Library Act S.B.C. 1994 C. 31, Part 2, Section 6(3) a Council Member is appointed to the Public Library Board for a term of 1 year and reappointments are for a term of two years.)

Council Representative: Councillor Anne Kang

Reappointment (2 year term):

Roberto Fasciana

Appointments (2 year term):

Barbara Larkin, Kathryn Sainty

To: Council Members

From: His Worship Mayor Derek R. Corrigan

### Parks, Recreation and Culture Commission

Council Representatives: Councillor Sav Dhaliwal

Councillor Pietro Calendino

Reappointments:

Bruno DiSpirito, Brian Nasu

Appointment:

Lee Loftus

### **Social Issues Committee**

Chair: Councillor Paul McDonell

Vice Chair: Councillor Pietro Calendino

Member: Councillor Nick Volkow

Reappointment:

Tazul Nisha Ali

Appointments:

Noreen Boudreau, Sonia Clair, Ayesha Haider, Shiraz Nathwani

### **Transportation Committee**

Chair: Councillor Nick Volkow
Vice Chair: Councillor Sav Dhaliwal
Member: Councillor Richard Chang

Appointments:

Amber Keane, Maria Marano

To: Council Members

From: His Worship Mayor Derek R. Corrigan

# **Traffic Safety Committee**

Chair: Councillor Sav Dhaliwal

Vice Chair: Councillor Anne Kang

Member: Councillor Pietro Calendino

# Reappointment:

Senior Citizens' Representative - Ashak Dhanani

### Appointment:

Eric Laity, Nikita Vizniak

Respectfully submitted,

Derek R. Corrigan M A Y O R

Copied to: City Manager

Director Engineering
Director Finance

Director Planning & Building

Director Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services

City Clerk