

TO: COUNCIL MEMBERS DATE: 2010 January 21

FROM: MAYOR DEREK R. CORRIGAN

SUBJECT: CITIZEN APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS,

COMMITTEES AND COMMISSIONS OF COUNCIL – 2011

PURPOSE: To appoint and reappoint citizen representatives to boards, committees and

commissions of Council

RECOMMENDATION:

1. "THAT Council appoint and reappoint representatives to various Boards, Commissions and Committees of Council, as set out in this report for the terms specified."

REPORT

In 2010 October, advertisements were placed in both the Burnaby Now and the Burnaby NewsLeader seeking volunteers to serve on Boards, Committees and Commissions of Council and the Burnaby Public Library Board. A review of all applications received was undertaken and as a result of that process the following is submitted for Council's consideration.

Appointments and reappointments of Burnaby citizens to the various boards, committees and commissions are for terms of <u>three</u> years unless otherwise noted.

Advisory Planning Commission

Reappointment (3 year term):

Paul Dhaliwal, Stephen Nemeth

Appointment:

Joy Fulton

Valentin Ivancic

Larry Myers

To: Council Members

From: His Worship Mayor Derek R. Corrigan

Re: Citizen Appointments and Reappointments - 2011 2011 January 24......Page 2

Board of Variance

Reappointment:

Dave MacKinnon

Community Heritage Commission

Chair: Councillor Colleen Jordan

Vice Chair: Councillor Anne Kang

Member: Councillor Richard Chang

Appointment: Ruby Johnson, Honorary Committee member Emeritus

Appointment (2 year term):

Margaret Bell

Philip Finlayson

Community Policing Committee

Chair: Councillor Pietro Calendino
Vice Chair: Councillor Paul McDonell

Member: Councillor Richard Chang

Reappointment:

Stan Fukawa

Appointment:

Steve McLean

Burnaby Public Library Board

(Pursuant to the Library Act S.B.C. 1994 C. 31, Part 2, Section 6(3) a Council Member is appointed to the Public Library Board for a term of 1 year and reappointments are for a term of two years.)

Council Representative: Councillor Anne Kang

Reappointment (2 year term):

Sharon Freeman, Lee Loftus, Ernest Maitland

To: Council Members

From: His Worship Mayor Derek R. Corrigan

Burnaby Library Appointments cont'd (2 year term):

David Ali

Satnam Johal

Sheila Pierce

Parks, Recreation and Culture Commission

Council Representatives: Councillor Sav Dhaliwal

Councillor Pietro Calendino

Appointments:

Wayne Peppard

Karen Purdy

Social Issues Committee

Chair: Councillor Pietro Calendino

Vice Chair: Councillor Paul McDonell

Member: Councillor Anne Kang

Reappointment:

Mauricio Plata

Appointments:

Laami de los Reyes

Maita Santiago

Peggy Woodruff

Transportation Committee

Chair: Councillor Nick Volkow
Vice Chair: Councillor Sav Dhaliwal
Member: Councillor Richard Chang

To: Council Members

From: His Worship Mayor Derek R. Corrigan

Re: Citizen Appointments and Reappointments - 2011 2011 January 24......Page 4

Transportation Committee cont'd

Reappointment:

Peter Cech, Robert Tan

Respectfully submitted,

Derek R. Corrigan M A Y O R

Copied to: City Manager

Director Engineering Director Finance

Director Planning & Building

Director Parks, Recreation & Cultural Services

City Clerk