1978

THE CORPORATION OF THE DISTRICT OF BURNABY BY-LAW NO. 4473

- . ..

A BY-LAW to establish an Advisory Planning Commission.

The Council of The Corporation of the District of Burnaby ENACTS as follows:-

1. This By-law may be cited as "BURNABY ADVISORY PLANNING COMMISSION BY-LAW 1963."

2. The Council does hereby establish an Advisory Planning Commission (hereinafter referred to as "the Commission").

3. (1) The Commission shall consist of nine members appointed by Council (hereinafter described as "appointed members") who shall have the right to vote and six ex officio members who shall not have the right to vote.

(2) Members appointed by Council shall hold office for the term of three years provided that of those first appointed

- (a) Three shall hold office until the 31st day of January of the year following the date of appointment;
- (b) Three shall hold office until the 31st day of January of the second year following the date of appointment; and
- (c) Three shall hold office until the 31st day of January of the third year following the date of appointment.

(3) Any vacancy caused by the death, removal or resignation of an appointed member shall be filled by the Council for the unexpired term of such member.

(4) No appointed member shall be appointed to serve more than two full consecutive terms of three years.

- (5) The ex officio members shall be
 - (a) the Reeve,
 - (b) the Chairman of the Council Planning Committee, and

 (c) a representative from each of The Board of School Trustees, School District No. 41 (Burnaby), the Parks and Recreation Commission, Simon Fraser University and the Government of the Province of British Columbia, designated respectively by each respective body.

(6) The place of any ex officio member on the Commission may during any year or portion of the year be occupied by another representative designated by the body respresented by that ex officio member.

- 2 -

(7) No municipal official or employee shall be appointed a member of the Commission.

(8) The first appointments of members of the Commission shall be made at the first meeting of Council after adoption of this by-law and thereafter shall be made at the meeting of the Council on the third Monday of January in each year.

4. (1) The Commission shall at its first meeting, and thereafter at its first meeting in each year, elect a chairman and a vice-chairman who shall preside in the absence of the chairman.

(2) A majority of the members of the Commission appointed by Council shall constitute a quorum.

(3) The Commission may adopt rules for its procedure and may from time to time vary such rules by a majority of the members of the Commission.

(4) The Commission shall meet on the fourth Thursday in every month unless such day is a statutory holiday when it shall meet on the day following which is not a statutory holiday, and at such other times as it may in its discretion determine.

(5) All meetings of the Commission shall be held at the Municipal Hall or such other place within the Municipality as may be designated by the Commission and shall not be open to the public except by invitation. (6) The Planning Director of the Municipality or his representative shall attend all meetings of the Commission except when otherwise directed by the Commission.

(7) The Council shall provide a Secretary for the Commission who shall keep proper records of its meetings.

5. (1) The members of the Commission shall serve without remuneration.

(2) The Council shall include in its annual budget such sums as are necessary to defray the expenses of the Commission.

Read a first time this 10th day of June, 1963. Read a second time this 10th day of June, 1963. Read a third time this 17th day of June, 1963. Reconsidered and adopted this 2nd day of July, 1963.

ACTINGREEVE DEPUT CLERK Y

- 3 -