This home was built by Daniel Mowat (1848-1923) and Amelia Mary Mowat (née Hoy, 1848-1923). Daniel originally worked as a merchant, and was operating a chicken farm at this location as early as 1908, and later a goat ranch. It is one of Burnaby’s few two-storey Arts and Crafts residences. The generous proportions of the house, its broad, medium-pitched, front-gabled roof and symmetrical design serve as further features. Additionally, the house boasts a high degree of integrity, retaining its original shingle wall cladding, half-timbered gables and original windows – a combination of casement windows with stained glass transoms and double-hung windows with square, multi-paned upper sashes.This house is located adjacent to what was once the Central Park interurban rail line, operated by the B.C. Electric Company, which conveniently connected this area of Burnaby to Vancouver. The arrival of this commuter line in 1892 led to the suburban development of this area of Burnaby.